Tag: Teen Fiction

April Teen Book Discussion 4/12/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Symptoms of Being Human’ by Jeff Garvin A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers. Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn’t exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and… Read more

March Teen Book Discussion 3/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Salt to the Sea’ by Ruta Sepetys    World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their… Read more

February Teen Book Discussion 2/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book for this month is: ‘Looking for Alaska’ by John Green Before. Miles ‘Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave ‘the Great Perhaps” even more (Francois Rabelais, poet). He heads off to the sometimes crazy and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life… Read more

January Teen Book Discussion 1/11/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘The Selection’ by Kiera Cass For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a… Read more

December Teen Book Discussion 12/14/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Monument 14’ by Emmy Laybourne 14 kids stranded inside a superstore. Inside they have everything they could ever need. There’s junk food and clothes, computer games and books, drugs and alcohol – and without adult supervision they can do whatever they want. Sounds like fun? But outside the world is being ripped apart by violent storms and chemicals leaking into the atmosphere that, depending… Read more

November Teen Book Discussion 11/9/16 @ 6:30PM

The book of the month is: ‘The Things They Carried’ by Tim O’Brien.   They carried malaria tablets, love letters, 28-pound mine detectors, dope, illustrated bibles, each other. And if they made it home alive, they carried unrelenting images of a nightmarish war that history is only beginning to absorb. Since its first publication, The Things They Carried has become an unparalleled Vietnam testament, a classic work of American literature, and… Read more

October Teen Book Discussion 10/12/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Incantation’ by Alice Hoffman.   From a New York Times bestselling author comes a journey of loss and rebirth with a startling premise inspired by historical fact. Estrella is a Marrano: one of the Spanish Jews living double lives when those who refused conversion risked everything. Estrella’s discovery that her family secretly practices the ancient way of wisdom known as kabbalah leads her to her… Read more

September Teen Book Discussion 9/14/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Sold’ by Patricia McCormick. Lakshmi is a thirteen-year-old girl who lives with her family in a small hut on a mountain in Nepal. Though she is desperately poor, her life is full of simple pleasures, like playing hopscotch with her best friend from school, and having her mother brush her hair by the light of an oil lamp. But when the harsh Himalayan monsoons… Read more

‘July T/ween Book Discussion’ – Weds, July 6 @ 6:30-7:30pm (Register Grades 5-Up)

‘An award-winning and inspiring novel.  When Jessica’s dreams are shattered, she puts herself back together—and learns to dream bigger than ever before.’ Book of the Month: ‘The Running Dream’ by Wendelin Van Draanen We combined the tween (grades 5-7) and teen (grades 8-12) in the summer for one awesome time of candy and chat.  The summer reading theme is GET IN THE GAME, and this book exemplifies how to get… Read more

June Teen Book Discussion 6/8/16 @ 6:30pm (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: Bruiser by Neal Shusterman  Award-winning author Neal Shusterman has crafted a chilling and unforgettable novel about the power of unconditional friendship, the complex gear workings of a family, and the sacrifices we endure for the people we love. Tennyson: Don’t get me started on the Bruiser. He was voted ‘Most Likely to Get the Death Penalty’ by the entire school. He’s the kid no… Read more