Tag: Teen Fiction

T/ween Book Talks ROCK 7/11/18 @ 6:30pm (Register Grades 5 and Up!)

Join us as we talk together about ‘Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie’ by Jordan Sonnenblick’ and rock out to this book.  Conversation, candy, and chillin’. This is a great read for middle and high school ages.  Copies of this book are available at the main desk. Thirteen-year-old Steven has a totally normal life: he plays drums in the All-Star Jazz band, has a crush on the hottest girl in… Read more

June Teen Book Discussion: 6/13/18 @6:30 PM

The book of the month is ‘Flowers for Algernon’ by Daniel Keyes.    With more than five million copies sold, Flowers for Algernon is the beloved, classic story of a mentally disabled man whose experimental quest for intelligence mirrors that of Algernon, an extraordinary lab mouse. In poignant diary entries, Charlie tells how a brain operation increases his IQ and changes his life. As the experimental procedure takes effect, Charlie’s intelligence… Read more

Teen Book Discussion: Tuesday, January 8, 2019 @6:30

The book of the month is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes Louisa Clark is an ordinary young woman living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has never been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair-bound after an accident. Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more… Read more

December Teen/Tween Book Discussion Wednesday 12/6/17 @6:30pm

Combined teens and tweens for a busy month! The book chosen is ‘A Wrinkle in Time’ by Madeleine L’Engle. It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.‘Wild nights are my glory,’ the unearthly stranger told them. ‘I just got… Read more

Mindfulness: Simple Steps No Cushion Required (Registration Required) ~ 6:30 on 11/16/2017

Join us for this introductionPaula Koppel into the practice of Mindfulness. Paula Koppel explores the mind-body connection that fuels stress and simple ways to incorporate mindfulness into everyday life (Including some that do not require sitting on a cushion to meditate). Come learn the neuroscience involved and how mindfulness impacts the brain and how the practice promotes emotional well-being, physical health and longevity. Paula Koppel, MS, RN, GNP has been a… Read more

November Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 11/8/17 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘Thirteen Reason’s Why’ by Jay Asher. Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of… Read more

September Teen Book Discussion 9/13/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Never Fall Down’ by Patricia McCormick. Based on the true story of Cambodian advocate Arn Chorn-Pond, and authentically told from his point of view as a young boy, this is an achingly raw and powerful historical novel about a child of war who becomes a man of peace. It includes an author’s note and acknowledgments from Arn Chorn-Pond himself. When soldiers arrive in his… Read more

Kids Knit-a-Bit ~ Mondays @ 2:30PM – 4:30PM (T/weens Ages 9-19)

Want to knit a bit?  Join other tween and teens ages 9-19 after school on Mondays from 2:30-4:30pm! Wait, you don’t get out of school until 3?  No worries, we are liking the idea of tweens and teens arriving at staggered times and staying for some or all of the time allotted.  We’ll have two adults to help that know how to knit/crochet and one adult that is a complete… Read more

June Teen Book Discussion 6/14/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Girl in Pieces’ by Kathleen Glasgow For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself. Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow… Read more

May Teen Book Discussion 5/10/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell. Two misfits. One extraordinary love. Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to… Read more