Category: Tween Book Discussion

We meet one evening of every month in the Teen Room of the library to discuss the book of the month from 6:30-7:30pm. All interested young people in grades 5-7 (not young adults, but not children, hence TWEENS) are welcome. Refreshments are served.

November Tween Book Discussion (Grades 5-7) Wednesday 11/1/17 @6:30pm

The book of the month is  ‘Pax’ by Sara Pennypacker. Pax was only a kit when his family was killed, and ‘his boy” Peter rescued him from abandonment and certain death. Now the war front approaches, and when Peter’s father enlists, Peter has to move in with his grandpa. Far worse than being forced to leave home is the fact that Pax can’t go. Peter listens to his stern father—as… Read more

September Tween Book Discussion 9/6/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones’ by Will Mabbitt. Have you ever picked your nose? Have you ever picked your nose and EATEN IT? Have you ever picked your nose, eaten it, and, by doing so, opened a portal to a world run by PIRATES? Mabel Jones has. Kidnapped, Mabel is forced to serve aboard The Feroshus Maggot with the strangest crew you’ll ever… Read more

June Tween Book Discussion (Grades 5-7) Wednesday 6/6/18 @6:30pm

The book this month is ‘Rooftoppers’ by Katherine Rundell. Everyone thinks that Sophie is an orphan. True, there were no other recorded female survivors from the shipwreck which left baby Sophie floating in the English Channel in a cello case, but Sophie remembers seeing her mother wave for help. Her guardian tells her it is almost impossible that her mother is still alive, but that means still possible… We meet… Read more

June Tween Book Discussion 6/7/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Nooks & Crannies’ by Jessica Lawson.  Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets Clue when six children navigate a mansion full of secrets—and maybe money—in this ‘delightful gem” (School Library Journal, starred review) with heart.Sweet, shy Tabitha Crum, the neglected only child of two parents straight out of a Roald Dahl book, doesn’t have a friend in the world—except for her pet mouse, Pemberley, whom… Read more

BUILD A Better BOOK CLUB with T/weens (Grades 5 and Up) ‘Wonder’: Wed, July 5, 2017 6:30-7:30PM

Wonder is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Auggie wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old, but he is far from ordinary. Born with a terrible facial deformity, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to… Read more

April Tween Book Discussion 4/5/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Among the Hidden’ by Margaret Peterson Haddix In a future where the Population Police enforce the law limiting a family to only two children, Luke, an illegal third child, has lived all his twelve years in isolation and fear on his family’s farm in this start to the Shadow Children series from Margaret Peterson Haddix. Luke has never been to school. He’s never had… Read more

March Tween Book Discussion 3/1/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Stargirl’ by Jerry Spinelli    Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of ‘Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.Then they turn on her. Stargirl is… Read more

February Tween Book Discussion 2/1/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book for this month is: ‘A Night Divided’ by Jennifer A. Nielsen   With the rise of the Berlin Wall, twelve-year-old Gerta finds her family suddenly divided. She, her mother, and her brother Fritz live on the eastern side, controlled by the Soviets. Her father and middle brother, who had gone west in search of work, cannot return home. Gerta knows it is dangerous to watch the wall, to think… Read more

January Tween Book Discussion 1/4/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Roller Girl’ by Victoria Jamieson The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile! For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller… Read more

December Tween Book Discussion 12/7/16 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 5-7)

The book of the month is: ‘Drums, Girls, & Dangerous Pie’ by Jordan Sonnenblick.   A brave and beautiful story that will make readers laugh, and break their hearts at the same time. Steven has a totally normal life (well, almost). He plays drums in the All-City Jazz Band (whose members call him the Peasant), has a crush on the hottest girl in school (who doesn’t even know he’s alive), and… Read more