Category: Teen Book Discussion

We meet one evening of every month in the Teen Room to discuss the book of the month from 6:30-7:30pm. All interested young people in grades 8-12 are welcome. Refreshments are served. Ask for a copy of the current book at the front desk.

April Staycation Events 4/22-4/29

staycation   Please open the entire post to access each registration link that is highlighted in RED.  Sign up early to avoid disappointment!   Items that have the strikeout font are already full to capacity.     Mon. April 24th  10:30 -11:00am: Travel Musically Around the World. Kids ages 0-6 will be exposed to different languages through music. Mon. April 24th 2:30-4:30pm: Kids Knit-a-Bit. Pre-registered youth ages 9-19 are learning to knit!… Read more

April Teen Book Discussion 4/12/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Symptoms of Being Human’ by Jeff Garvin A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers. Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn’t exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and… Read more

March Teen Book Discussion 3/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Salt to the Sea’ by Ruta Sepetys    World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their… Read more

February Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 2/14/18 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda’ by Becky Albertalli. Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become… Read more

February Teen Book Discussion 2/8/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book for this month is: ‘Looking for Alaska’ by John Green Before. Miles ‘Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave ‘the Great Perhaps” even more (Francois Rabelais, poet). He heads off to the sometimes crazy and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life… Read more

January Teen Book Discussion 1/11/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘The Selection’ by Kiera Cass For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a… Read more

December Teen Book Discussion 12/14/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Monument 14’ by Emmy Laybourne 14 kids stranded inside a superstore. Inside they have everything they could ever need. There’s junk food and clothes, computer games and books, drugs and alcohol – and without adult supervision they can do whatever they want. Sounds like fun? But outside the world is being ripped apart by violent storms and chemicals leaking into the atmosphere that, depending… Read more

Community Stories Soldiers Home & Away Book Discussions ~ Sept 20th – Nov 9th

From September through November Kimball Library will hold several book discussions featuring the book The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien. This book was chosen as the selected read for a New Hampshire Humanities Community Project Grant called Community Stories: Soldiers Home & Away, a collaboration involving nine southern NH libraries and Timberlane Regional School District. For more details about this project and a full schedule of events and other… Read more

November Teen Book Discussion 11/9/16 @ 6:30PM

The book of the month is: ‘The Things They Carried’ by Tim O’Brien.   They carried malaria tablets, love letters, 28-pound mine detectors, dope, illustrated bibles, each other. And if they made it home alive, they carried unrelenting images of a nightmarish war that history is only beginning to absorb. Since its first publication, The Things They Carried has become an unparalleled Vietnam testament, a classic work of American literature, and… Read more

October Teen Book Discussion 10/12/16 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Incantation’ by Alice Hoffman.   From a New York Times bestselling author comes a journey of loss and rebirth with a startling premise inspired by historical fact. Estrella is a Marrano: one of the Spanish Jews living double lives when those who refused conversion risked everything. Estrella’s discovery that her family secretly practices the ancient way of wisdom known as kabbalah leads her to her… Read more