Category: Teen Book Discussion

We meet one evening of every month in the Teen Room to discuss the book of the month from 6:30-7:30pm. All interested young people in grades 8-12 are welcome. Refreshments are served. Ask for a copy of the current book at the front desk.

March Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 3/14/18 @6:30pm

The Book of the month is ‘This Dark Endeavor’ by Kenneth Oppel. The 16-year-old Victor Frankenstein begins a dark journey that will change his life forever. Victor’s twin, Konrad, has fallen ill, and no doctor is able to cure him. Unwilling to give up on his brother, Victor enlists his cousin Elizabeth and best friend Henry on a treacherous search for the ingredients to create the forbidden Elixir of Life.… Read more

Teen Book Discussion: Tuesday, January 8, 2019 @6:30

The book of the month is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes Louisa Clark is an ordinary young woman living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has never been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair-bound after an accident. Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more… Read more

January Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 1/10/18 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘The Girl in the Blue Coat’ by Monica Hesse. Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days finding and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the German army invaded. Her illegal work keeps her family afloat,… Read more

December Teen/Tween Book Discussion Wednesday 12/6/17 @6:30pm

Combined teens and tweens for a busy month! The book chosen is ‘A Wrinkle in Time’ by Madeleine L’Engle. It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.‘Wild nights are my glory,’ the unearthly stranger told them. ‘I just got… Read more

November Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 11/8/17 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘Thirteen Reason’s Why’ by Jay Asher. Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of… Read more

October Teen Book Discussion (Grades 8-12) Wednesday 10/11/17 @6:30pm

The book of the month is ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon.   My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him.… Read more

September Teen Book Discussion 9/13/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Never Fall Down’ by Patricia McCormick. Based on the true story of Cambodian advocate Arn Chorn-Pond, and authentically told from his point of view as a young boy, this is an achingly raw and powerful historical novel about a child of war who becomes a man of peace. It includes an author’s note and acknowledgments from Arn Chorn-Pond himself. When soldiers arrive in his… Read more

June Teen Book Discussion 6/14/17 @ 6:30PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Girl in Pieces’ by Kathleen Glasgow For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes Kathleen Glasgow’s debut novel about a girl who has lost everything—almost even herself. Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow… Read more

BUILD A Better BOOK CLUB with T/weens (Grades 5 and Up) ‘Wonder’: Wed, July 5, 2017 6:30-7:30PM

Wonder is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Auggie wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old, but he is far from ordinary. Born with a terrible facial deformity, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to… Read more

May Teen Book Discussion 5/10/17 @ 6:30 PM (Grades 8-12)

The book of the month is: ‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell. Two misfits. One extraordinary love. Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to… Read more